Three Years of Decay. Photo by: David Brian Pezzner
PHOTO BY David Brian Pezzner

Three Years of Decay


Author Mathias Haegglund in Music for Evlear
Published Fri. 12th of May 2017 URL Bookmark

Decay Records marks its third year in the game with a mix compilation from California-born DJ and producer Pezzner, featuring exclusive tracks from some key underground figures such as Franck Roger, Alex Arnout and Neverdogs and many more.

Seattle resident David Brian Pezzner has been a longstanding member of the underground house scene, earning his stripes as one half of the west Coast house duo Jacob London in the nineties. Pezzner has since established himself as a prolific solo artist, releasing his first album in 2010 on Tom Roberts and Jamie Odell’s revered Freerange Records, with subsequent albums dropping on the Dusseldorf based Systematic Recordings and M.A.N.D.Y’s Get Physical. Pezzner’s productions and versatile DJ sets have landed him regular gigs across the globe in some of the most renowned festivals and clubs including Seattle’s Decibel, Amsterdam’s Trouw and Paris’ Rex Club.

After a string of remixes on the London based Decay Records, Pezzner returns with an arsenal of exclusive tracks from the Decay artists vaults - and has carefully curated a 68 minute mix that glides from hypnotic soundscapes to organic yet-lofty percussive tracks with his signature dub-leaning vibes.

Opening the mix is the twisted soundscape within Floyd Lavine’s ‘Half Pint Frankie Jackson’, which Pezzner utilises to carefully throw the listener off balance, before subtly upping the ante with the deep and stripped back grooves of Label head Davide Zeta with Frank Storm. The mix continues to ebb and flow into further expanses, enlisting the help of Tijn’s crafty acid licks in ‘303 Tool’, Pezzner forever builds tension whilst flowing simultaneously through a range of mesmerising house and techno. The full dubbed out vibes of Martin Aquino and Ingrid Borderline then fuse together to close out the mix in a similar hypnotic form as it came in.

Three Years of Decay - Mixed by Pezzner
Release Date 19th May 2017
Label Decay Records

1. Floyd Lavine - Half Pint Frankie Jackson (African Techno)
2. S-Ampel - Witness
3. Davide Zeta & Frank Storm - Space Out
4. Alex Arnout - Mechanics Of Grace
5. Julien Sandre & Juliche Hernandez - Ensemble
6. Carlos Sanchez - Mulysa
7. TIJN - 303 Tool
8. Hanfry Martinez & Javier Carballo - Akai Tomate
9. Franck Roger - Sweet Lover
10. Neverdogs - Bungs Things
11. Jamie Trench - My House
12. Pezzner - Stop
13. Same Frequency - The Rhythm
14. Jay Tripwire - Testament
15. James Organ - With You In Mind
16. Martin Aquino - Arctic
17. Ingrid Borderline - For The Ground

Find out more
Decay Records



Your comment will be available for editing for 5 minutes


Upcoming music festivals

Nuits Sonores 2019
May 29th - June 2nd

Orange Warsaw Festival 2019
May 31st - June 1st

Meadows In The Mountains 2019
June 6th - June 9th

Tauron Nowa Muzyka Katowice 2019
June 20th - June 22nd

Montreux Jazz Festival 2019
June 28th - July 13th


Evlear proudly uses for hosting the website and we like them very much.

We love travelling and we always use to find the best hotels in the cities we visit. It's simply awesome!