New Cult Fear by Cardopusher. Photo by: Boysnoize Records
PHOTO BY Boysnoize Records

New Cult Fear by Cardopusher


Author Mathias Haegglund in Music for Evlear
Published Sat. 15th of Jul 2017 URL Bookmark

The stylistically expressive Cardopusher is next up on Boysnoize Records with a second full length album. Named "New Cult Fear", is following the 2015 "Manipulator" album.

Venezuelan born Cardopusher is now based in Barcelona and co-founded the Classicworks label. His diverse and experimental sound takes him from techno to electro to acid to rave to house, all with his own singular perspective. Always fusing ideas with great skill on labels like Super Rhythm Trax, Zodiac 44 and BNR, he is fresh off the back of a searing EP on Zone and now comes correct with another fantastic 12 track statement.  

The immediately impactful electro-boogaloo of "Dreamjumping" kicks things off with rugged synths and tough grooves forcing you to shake your behind. Otto Von Schirach then guests on "Llegue Por La Noche", a dark, slow and sludgy track with brilliantly depraved appeal before the raw machine grooves and squelchy sounds continue through off kilter gems "Crystal Nightcap" and "Mind Eraser".

Tracks like "Drunken Incapacitants" offer strangely sensual yet still occult-ish sounds where toms, hits and icy snares are run through with female vocal sounds, and straight up floor fillers come via the brain-frying "Idol Worship" and frantic drum programming of "Just One Fixx". Throwback electro styles characterise the acid licks of "Rigid Body Dynamics" and the future robot funk of "Forbidden Zone" features more expert sound design and irresistible hi hats. Things close out with the scintillating "Wanderlust", corrugated acid slow dance that is "Falso Progreso" and blissed out comedown vibes of "TYC".

This is a complete and coherent album that showcases Cardopusher’s raw and unique styles, textures and grooves in all their sensory stimulating glory.

Cardopusher - New Cult Fear (LP)
Release Date
14th July 2017
Label Boysnoize Records

1. Dreamjumping
2. Llegue Por La Noche (feat. Otto Von Schirach)
3. Crystal Nightcap
4. Mind Eraser
5. Drunken Incapacitants
6. Idol Warship
7. Just One Fixx
8. Rigid Body Dynamics
9. Forbidden Zone
10. Wanderlust
11. Falso Progreso
12. TYC

Find out more
Boysnoize Records



Your comment will be available for editing for 5 minutes


Upcoming music festivals

Oasis Festival 2018
September 14th - September 17th

Austin City Limits Festival 2018
October 5th - October 14th

Amsterdam Dance Event 2018
October 17th - October 21st

Iceland Airwaves 2018
November 7th - November 10th


Evlear proudly uses for hosting our website and we like them very much.

We love travelling and we always use to find the best hotels in the cities we visit. It's simply awesome!