Lower East presents 5 Years of Lower East vol. 1. Photo by: Lower East
PHOTO BY Lower East

Lower East presents 5 Years of Lower East vol. 1


Author Mathias Haegglund in Music for Evlear
Published Mon. 31st of Aug 2015 URL Bookmark

Lower East celebrates half a decade with this compilation, featuring remixed back catalogue material from an array of leading contemporary artists and label mainstays.

London’s Lower East has come a long way since its launch back in June of 2010 with the label now up to it's 41st release, and can now boast an impressive back catalogue of material from leading names in both the classic and modern world of electronic music, with the likes of Larry Heard aka Mr. Fingers, MK, Volkoder, Alexis Raphael and of course label founder Cozzy D. Here the label marks a milestone, delving deep into its impressive 5 year history of releases, and offering up fresh interpretations of classic tracks to give them new life.

Up first is New York duo Walker & Royce, most notably known for their works with Moda Black and Pets Recordings of late, who rework 'Darkness Everyday' by Johnny Mikes feat. Michael B, reshaping the original cut into a stripped-back, bass heavy, hypnotic workout. Label head Cozzy D steps up to rework Michael Jansons feat. Mizbee’s ‘Addiction’ next and delivers a hook led interpretation fuelled by classic stab sequences, rumbling kicks and swirling vocal murmurs. Viva artist Jacky reworks Alexis Raphael's 'Assault Weapon' next, delivering his signature up-tempo house style with meandering synth licks, bulbous bass tones and vacillating organic percussion.

Moodtrap rework Floyd Lavine's 'Fallin Rose' dropping the tempo and infusing a disco edge to things, with old school synth and bass tones. Lewis Boardman takes things onto a dubby tip with his ‘Temporary Psychosis Remix’ of Cozzy D's 'Shake That Acid' fusing 303 blips with low-slung rhythms. Puente & Rosch’s ‘This Feeling’ gets reworked into a loopy, groove-led number by Johnny Mikes and to tail off the package Newbie Nerdz deliver a classic slice of house with their version of Viadrina’s Spellbound to round of the package brilliantly.

Various Artists - 5 Years of Lower East vol. 1
Release date 9th October 2015
Label Lower East

1. Johnny Mikes Feat. Michael B - Darkness Everyday (Walker & Royce Remix)  
2. Michael Jansons Feat. Mizbee - Addiction (Cozzy D Remix)
3. Alexis Raphael - Assault Weapon (Jacky Remix)
4. Floyd Levine Feat. Mey - Fallin Rose (Moodtrap Remix)
5. Cozzy D - Shake That Acid (Lewis Boardman's Temporary Psychosis Remix)
6. Puente & Rosch - This Feeling (Johnny Mikes Remix)
7. Viadrina - Spellbound (Newbie Nerdz Remix)

Find out more
Lower East



Your comment will be available for editing for 5 minutes


Upcoming music festivals

Oasis Festival 2018
September 14th - September 17th

Austin City Limits Festival 2018
October 5th - October 14th

Amsterdam Dance Event 2018
October 17th - October 21st

Iceland Airwaves 2018
November 7th - November 10th


Evlear proudly uses One.com for hosting our website and we like them very much.

We love travelling and we always use Booking.com to find the best hotels in the cities we visit. It's simply awesome!