Cocoon presents Cocoon Compilation R. Photo by: Cocoon Recordings
PHOTO BY Cocoon Recordings

Cocoon presents Cocoon Compilation R


Author Mathias Haegglund in Music for Evlear
Published Tue. 17th of Jul 2018 URL Bookmark

Cocoon’s much anticipated alphabet series hits the letter R in 2018, and as well as a CD release, there is a special vinyl version features 6 x 12” fluorescent records which glow in the dark and create a magical effect in the club.

Of course, label boss Sven Väth and his Cocoon label are synonymous with techno. But under his charge, strict style guidelines and exaggerated pigeonholing do not apply. It’s especially true for the compilation series, which having now reached the letter R, impressively shows the arc the Frankfurt label’s output continues to span. From soft and melodic with a lot of depth to highly functional and extremely crisp - there’s a creative range on offer that very few labels can boast.

"I listen to and play everything that I like and that touches me. I always pack a genre-spanning record bag. I’m particularly interested in those special tracks - that's exactly what my vision of Cocoon Recordings is about.” says Sven Väth.

The current compilation continues this idea and is a prime example of the label’s philosophy. The artists on the latest edition include prominent names like Isolee, Lusine, Pig&Dan, Inigo Kennedy, Ambivalent & Alden Tyrell, ROD and Mano Le Tough. Label representative and Frankfurt original Ingo Boss offers up a track and with contributions from International Anything, John Heckle, Cristi Cons and Eduardo De La Calle, promising new faces from further afield are also represented.

Things open in melancholic fashion with the thoughtful and rolling house of Lusine’s ‘Parallel,’ then Isolee serves up a modern classic that is minimal and melodic with ‘Yes Let’. The always deep Mano Le Tough offers typically organic grooves, Spaniard Eduardo De La Calle melts your mind with his trance inducing techno, and veterans Ambivalent and Alden Tyrell get raw and angsty with their twisted techno number. There is then big room fair from Pig&Dan, celestial synth techno from John Heckle and expertly reduced minimal from the master of detail that is Christi Cons.

All in all, this makes for one of the most diverse compilations yet and is a perfect snapshot of what to expect from one of ringleader Sven’s celebrated sets somewhere round the world.

Various Artists - Cocoon Compilation R
Release Date
20th July 2018
Label Cocoon Recordings

1. Lusine - Parallel
2. Isolee - Yes let
3. Mano Le Tough - Vanishing Landscapes
4. International Anything - The Future is Here
5. Eduardo De La Calle - Caravaca’s Distortion Theory
6. Inigo Kennedy - Black Light
7. Ambivalent & Alden Tyrell - War Island
8. Pig & Dan - Shattered Minds
9. ROD - Abel
10. Ingo Boss - Junghof Love Star
11. John Heckle - Fantasy
12. Cristi Cons - Bird in Space

Find out more
Cocoon Recordings



Your comment will be available for editing for 5 minutes


Upcoming music festivals

Coachella 2019
April 12th - April 21st

Mallorca Live Festival 2019
May 10th - May 11th

Nuits Sonores 2019
May 29th - June 2nd

Orange Warsaw Festival 2019
May 31st - June 1st

Meadows In The Mountains 2019
June 6th - June 9th


Evlear proudly uses for hosting our website and we like them very much.

We love travelling and we always use to find the best hotels in the cities we visit. It's simply awesome!