1 Out of 4 by I Hear Disorder

Julien Delfaud aka I Hear Disorder debuts on his brand new label Aviron with 1 Out of 4, an explosive new Chicago house EP.

1 Out of 4 by I Hear Disorder. Art by Aviron Art by Aviron

Julien Delfaud comes out of the shadows with this alias, which is inspired by the legendary Windy City label, Dance Mania. He has a fascinating backstory that saw him train at the PlusXXX school as an assistant to Philippe Zdar, one half of the mythical Cassius duo, before collaborating with French icons Phoenix and then Etienne de Crécy on the Super Discount project. In 90's Paris, he was behind the decks at the infamous Respect parties and organized, alongside Jess, Crabbe, and DJ Kenobi, the Hometown parties at the mythical Rex Club. He is now a renowned producer and engineer who since 2001 has worked with contemporary French talents such as Clara Luciani, Juliette Armanet, and Hervé, but breaks out on his own here with I Hear Disorder.

This visceral EP opens with lead single "Rococo", a brilliantly raw and mechanical house track with big slapping hits. Dazzling synths and big chords light it up with some filtered French finesse and ensure maximum impact in the club. Just as powerful is "Le Zink", a freewheeling cut with taught synths twisting and turning over a rugged beat that brims with energy and texture. There is no let-up on "I Know You Know", it's an explosion of cosmic energy, with turbocharged drums and sawtooth synths spraying about beneath smart vocals and withering leads. "You Clap The Beat" closes down with more arresting house sounds. The synths are supersized and brain-frying, the drums steel plated, and the whole track designed to explode in the club.

I Hear Disorder is a project that marks Julien Delfaud out as a standalone producer who knows how to work the club.

I Hear Disorder - 1 Out of 4
Release Date December 2021
Label Aviron

1. Rococo
2. Le Zink
3. I Know You Know
4. You Clap The Beat

Written by: Mathias Haegglund
Published: Jan 8, 2022 at 10:00